Track and Field Digest


Track and Field Team Wins Horizon League Championship
by YSU
Wednesday, Mar 2, 2016 4:36 pm
Track and Field Team Wins Horizon League Championship
The Youngstown State men's track and field team won the 2016 Horizon League Indoor Track and Field Championships spurred by four individual titles on Sunday afternoon at the WATTS.

The Penguins held the lead for the entire championships and won by 65 points earning their first indoor title since 2003. YSU placed first with 197 points and Milwaukee was second with 132 points.

Freshman Chad Zallow won the first two titles for the Penguins. He took home the crown in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 7.84 seconds and his second title came when he took first in the 60-meter dash with a new meet record with a time of 6.81 seconds.

Sophomore Ryan Booth won his first conference title in the shot put with a throw of 17.00 meters. Booth gives the Penguins seven of the last nine titles in the shot put.

Freshman Isaac Agyemang won the heptathlon title with a score of 4,622 points. He is the first YSU athlete to win the event since the event was first held in 2006.

In the men's high jump, Arnaldo Morales took second by clearing the bar at 2.08 meters while Jay Jakovina came in fourth by clearing a height of 2.02 meters.

In other running events, Austin McLean came in second place with a personal-best time of 4:07.37 in the mile run.

In the 60-meter dash, David Rivers III placed third with a time of 6.91 seconds and Carl Zallow was right behind him to take fourth to clock a time of 6.92 seconds.

For the 200-meter dash, Leighton Antonio took third with a time of 21.63 seconds and Chad Zallow was next to place fourth with a time of 21.69 seconds.

The men took a second and third finish in the 3,000-meter run as McLean took second with a time of 8:24.02 seconds and Ryan Sullivan placed third with a time of 8:24.44.

Senior Jon Hutnyan helped the Penguins by taking fourth in the 800-meter run with a time of 1:55.63.

The Penguins were honored at the end of the meet as Agyemang was selected Field Freshman of the Year. Chad Zallow, the HL Athlete of the Year, was named the Track Freshman of the Year. Head Coach Gorby was honored Men's Coach of the Year, his first on the indoor circuit since 2003.

University SiteNCAA SiteHorizon League SiteMVFC Site Feeds and Mobile

rss RSS News Feed
rss Forum RSS Feed
rssForum WAP2 Site