Penguin Tennis History


Horizon League Champions

The program began in 1937 under Willard Webster before being halted for World War II in 1942. The program was back in 1947 and has been a sport ever since. Currently, Coach Mickael Sopel leads the program and is the 19th coach in school history.

The program has been on an "upswing" since Sopel has arrived. The last two seasons have seen the men's program finish in 3rd-place in the Horizon League. That is the best conference finish in program history. YSU was led by first-team All-Horizon League pick Silviu Mistreanu and the conference's Newcomer of the Year, Sebastian Hagn. The Penguins picked up their first win over UIC since joining the league and won at Wright State for the first time in nearly 30 years.



Penguins Historical Tennis Classifications:
1981-present NCAA College Division I
1972-1980 NCAA Division II

1937-1971 NCAA Small College Division


Penguins Historical Division-I Conferences:
2003-20XX The Horizon League / Midwestern Collegiate Conference
1996-2001 Mid-Continent Conference
1989-1995 Independent
1981-1988 Ohio Valley Conference


Prepared, in-part, by YSU Sports Information.
Additional data provided by the Horizon League.

Our Thanks would like to thank Youngstown State University and the Sports Information Department for their assistance.

University SiteNCAA SiteHorizon League SiteMVFC Site Feeds and Mobile

rss RSS News Feed
rss Forum RSS Feed
rssForum WAP2 Site