Lady Pens Tennis History


The program became a sport at YSU in 1983. The first coach was Rob Adsit. Currently, the women’s program is coached by Mark Klysner. Mark coaches both programs. The women advanced to the Horizon League Championship match in 2013 for the second time in school history.

Paula de Man was named the Horizon League's Player and Newcomer of the Year following a 23-1 campaign. Marta Burak and Margarita Sadovnikova joined de Man on the Horizon League's all-conference first team. The trio combined to go 21-0 during league play and ended the year winning 42 consecutive matches. Burak's 28 wins for the season set the school mark for wins in a season while all three players won more than 20 matches. In 2004, YSU placed third at the Horizon League Championships and followed with a second-place finish in 2005.

In 1998 and 1999, the Penguins placed third while in 2000 and 2001, YSU was fourth in the Mid-Continent Conference. Since 1994, they have had 15 all-conference picks, including 1996 Mid-Con Player of the Year Santi Nalluri. Nalluri was also named the Mid-Con’s Newcomer of the Year in 1994. In 1995, YSU played host to the Mid-Con Women’s Tennis Championships.

Prepared, in part, by YSU Sports Information Director Trevor Parks

Latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader. This is a free download.

View in Full Screen

University SiteNCAA SiteHorizon League SiteMVFC Site Feeds and Mobile

rss RSS News Feed
rss Forum RSS Feed
rssForum WAP2 Site