Penguins Golf History


The program started in 1946 with Dr. Joseph Smith as the coach. Overall there have been six coaches in the programs history, including current Head Coach Tony Joy, who took over the program in 1984. From 1967 through 1981, YSU had 11 Division II All-Americans. In 1979, John Zebroski was a first-team All-American finishing fourth. YSU played host to the NCAA Division II Golf Championship event at Avalon in 1970 and 1976.

On the Division II level, YSU had five top-20 finishes at the NCAA meet, including a school-best fifth in 1970. Since Joy took over the program, individuals have earned 19 all-conference honors in the Ohio Valley, Mid- Continent and Horizon League. Twice in school history YSU has produced an individual conference champion. In the spring of 2004, Nate Komsa won the Horizon League Championship while in May 1994, Jim Perry was the co-champion of the Mid-Con. YSU also played host to the 1993 Mid-Continent Conference Championship and the 1986 Ohio Valley Conference Championship.


Latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader. This is a free download.

View in Full Screen

University SiteNCAA SiteHorizon League SiteMVFC Site Feeds and Mobile

rss RSS News Feed
rss Forum RSS Feed
rssForum WAP2 Site