Penguin Football History


YSU football played its first season in 1938. The program was organized by Coach Dwight "Dike" Beede, for whom the field is named. Dike was the head coach of the football program from 1938 through 1972; one of the longest tenures in NCAA history. The program has had six historical head coaches– Beede (1938-72), Rey Dempsey (1973-74), Bill Narduzzi (1975-85), Jim Tressel (1986-2000), Jon Heacock (2001-09) and Eric Wolford (2010-present). The Penguins have won over 450 games in 74 seasons of football – the program was halted from 1943-45 for World War II.

YSU has played more than 700 games in the programs illustrious history. Youngstown State has been a member of the Mid-Continent Conference (1978- 80), the Ohio Valley Conference (1981-1987) and now the Missouri Valley Football Conference (1997-present). The Penguins won Mid-Con titles in 1978 and 1979, won the OVC in 1987 and won the Gateway in 2005 and 2006.YSU has won four Division I-AA National Championships (1991, 1993, 1994 and 1997) and also played in the title game in 1992 and 1999. YSU also played for the Division II National Championship in 1979. The Penguins have had over 30 individuals selected as First-Team All-Americans on the I-AA/FCS or Division II level


Latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader. This is a free download.

View in Full Screen

University SiteNCAA SiteHorizon League SiteMVFC Site Feeds and Mobile

rss RSS News Feed
rss Forum RSS Feed
rssForum WAP2 Site